Works for Me Wednesday

Wfmwheader_9So, how many of you have a child who always wants to take something with them in the car? Everywhere.you.go!!! Well, I do! And my van was starting to look like a really messy toy store. So, I decided to tackle the problem once and for all. If I tell her she can not take anything at all with her in the car (not into the place we are going~she knows that she can not do) it breaks her little heart. But, Mom, I promise I won’t take it in _________ (insert wherever we are headed) and I will bring it back in. HA! I’ve heard that a million times and although she leaves it in the car when we get to where we’re going, it hardly ever makes it back into the house. So, my solution: (I know you’re thinking get on with it lady)

I decided to let her pick out one backpack (she has a million) and fill it with whatever she wanted to keep her company/busy in the car! I let her do it all by herself. The conditions were that they are to remain in the car. They do not come back home and they do not go in anywhere (unless ofcourse we have to wait at the doc’s office or DMV or anywhere else). It has worked great. She opens the bag as soon as we get in the car (even if it is just a trip to the store at the end of the block) and she plays. She filled it mostly with coloring pencils, books, and paper. And, the best part, she knows she has to put everything back into the pack before we get out of the car…and she does! We strapped it to the back of the chair in front of her so it is readily available!

You guys may already do this or something similar, but there may be some who do not. But, you know what, this Works for Me!!! For some really fantastic tips and ideas just head on over to Shannon’s site at Rocks in My Dryer.

12 Responses

  1. Great tip! We keep, what has become a rather large box in the car at all times, filled with books and smaller toys. The organization factor is the key and your backpack idea is great!

  2. That is a great idea. And the backpack will keep everything looking nice. Great tip!!

  3. I have done this in the past and I need to do this again. Thanks for the reminder.

    On another note, I too noticed that our goals have been the same. I guess great minds think alike. I wonder if this week we will keep the same goals or seperate. We shall see! lol πŸ™‚

    ~Betty~

  4. Oh I love this idea!!!! My 5 year old REALLY needs something like this! Great, great idea!! I will implement it today! πŸ™‚ Thanks!!

  5. Great idea! I did something similar when my boys were younger. Now they can just bring a book…its great when they can read!

    Thanks for the tip….mine is on a wonder laundry bar.

  6. What a fantastic solution! Thanks for sharing!

  7. I love the backpack solution. You are a genius!

  8. I love this idea! Our van looks like a paper filled trash can right now. LOL I’m going to have to get the backpacks out!
    Kelli

  9. That’s a great idea! With four kids, the back of my SUV is pretty scary. I love this! Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting too.

  10. I do this too! Thanks for stopping by to say hello today. I can’t wait to see some before and afters…woohoo….my favorite!!

    Laura

  11. I’m sitting here having a “duh” moment. How many times have I run out to the truck in my pajama pants right before bed because one of the kids forgot something they just “had” to have in order to be able to go to sleep? Wow… great idea. I am going to dig out the backpacks first thing tomorrow morning. Thanks for sharing your idea ~ I love it!
    Kit
    Thanks, also for stopping by my blog today and taking the time to comment.

  12. That’s a great tip! I’ma have to put that into use next time we have the grandbaby with us πŸ™‚ Happy TT btw πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

