Works for Me Wednesday ~ Love, Sweet Love Edition

Love, Sweet Love

How To Write a Romantic Love Letter

What a wonderful feeling! I have been so excited about this WFMW! But, I was struggling trying to think of something great to share. I finally figured it out and I hope you all may benefit from it as well.

One of the things Shannon asked us to share was relationship advice. And that is what I intend to do! My hubby and I have been together close to 14 years. We’ve only been married a short 5 years (in June), but we have been together for a long time. So, I feel like we have something good to contribute in this area.

Something we have done for as long as I can remember is to write to each other. Sometimes we will write each other a sappy love letter or personalize a sentimental card for each other. But, what really works for us is to write to each other face to face when we are in the midst of a disagreement.

We used to argue, fuss and fight and that got us nowhere. It just happened one day…we sat down with pen and paper and wrote out what we were trying to say. We take turns so that we have a chance to respond, but we don’t do so verbally.

Writing things out gives us each a chance to say what we want to say without being interupted or cut off. It also helps us to make our thoughts more clear to the other. Instead of trying to get the last word in or getting frustrated and flustered we are able to calmly get things settled. This has been a great way for us to communicate to each other without saying something we don’t mean.

When you write something down you have to think about it before you write it. Which, we all know, is not the case when you are verbally disagreeing! 😉

We do have a rule we follow when we do this…only one pen and one piece of paper. You don’t risk trying to out write each other and are forced to take turns!!!

You only really write down what you need to say. No harsh words or snide comments. This is what Works for US!!!

For more Love, Sweet Love WFMW’s head on over to Shannon at Rocks In My Dryer! Oh, I can’t wait to check these out! Have a great week everybody!

*Image borrowed from an editorial at buzzle.com. You can find it here! Thanks!

*Update: Please see this post here. Share the love people, share the love!

14 Responses

  1. You are *SO* right. There is just nothing better than the written word to help you fall in love again!! Thanks for the wonderful tip and for swinging by my blog! Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!

  2. Love this! We have done this with email. It really works, especially when you happen to be interrupters. 🙂

  3. LOVE THIS! we do this too. we have a black notebook and now and then we will write notes to each other in it…
    its kinda fun because i’ll never know if there’s a little note waiting for me or not.

  4. Great tip! But my husband can’t stand to write…and I do enough for both of us!

    Thanks for stopping by The Laundry Alternative. By the way, I freeze the muffins after I make them!

    Thanks and blessings,
    Elisa

  5. I still have all the love notes DH has written me over the past 14 years. 🙂 It’s nice to read back over them when I’m having “one of those days.” Thanks for visiting me!
    Blessings,
    Mrs. C

  6. Great idea, Becky. Thanks for your comment on my heart meal idea. You mentioned a heart cake pan–I can give you a cheap alternative: Bake one 8 inch square cake and bake one 8 inch round cake. Cut the round cake in half, and then put it on the top of the square (with a point down, like a diamond). It looks like a heart, and when you frost it you can’t tell that it’s not all one cake. Thanks for the reminder–I might do that too!

  7. This is beyond brilliant, I’m a bride-to-be and this sounds exactly like what my sweetie & I need. Thank you SO much for sharing this tip! Happy Valentine’s Day! =)

  8. You’re so smart!

    (Where’d your blogroll go?)

  9. p.s. I wrote today.

  10. Now you are brilliant! I think this would work perfectly for me and my husband. We get along really well, but we know how to argue with the best of them. We are both pretty stubborn. What normally happens is I end up writing him an email or letter to clarify my feelings or thoughts, but I like this idea SOOOO much more. Thanks a million for sharing!

  11. Becky, what a wonderful idea! I journal on my own, to work things out in my head. I’ve never thought of having Oronzo write with me. I’ll have to see if he’s open to something like this.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Sorry you’ve had troubles leaving a comment. 🙂

  12. Becky, thanks for stopping by my blog and congrats for being a co-winner for the photo caption contest :))

    SeaBird

  13. What a wonderful idea, Becky!! What a romantic and thoughtful way to show love to each other!
    Kelli

  14. Great idea. I always feel like I can’t get my thoughts together when I am angry so maybe this will help.

Leave a Reply

