WFMW ~ Honesty is the best policy!

This may be a no-brainer for most of you and I don’t mean to imply that I’m a big fat liar! 🙂 I’m a people pleaser. Always have been, but that is changing. Not that I don’t still want to please people, but when it comes to my feelings and being honest about them I have to put that aside. Two instances of late have made me change my ways. A friend of long ago whom I have not spoken to in years because of some bad blood contacted me just a few days ago. She mentioned letting things go and getting together sometime. So, when I replied to her I let her know exactly how I felt about what happened, told her that I forgave her and apologized for anything I may have done to cause our separation. It felt good…no, it felt great.

Yesterday a friend of mine, whom is terrible at calling me back and was supposed to do something for me and didn’t and didn’t call to say otherwise, sent me a message telling me she was sorry. I messaged her back telling her exactly how I felt about the situation and that I accepted her apology. How liberating it feels to actually tell people they hurt my feelings! This may sound crazy to you that I am just now beginning to do this, but I’ve found it hard not to just let things slide and say “Oh, it’s okay!”. But, I keep that hurt bottled up inside and it festers, but no longer!!! Honesty IS the best policy and that is What Works for Me!!!

To see what is working for others around the blogosphere go check out Shannon at Rocks In My Dryer! You’ll find some great stuff there!!!

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! May the love of God hold you close today and always!!!

Wfmwheader_copy3_2

7 Responses

  1. Becky, So glad that you have been able to let your friend’s know when they hurt your feelings and that even so, you forgive them.

    Wishing you a wonderful day and a blessed Valentine’s Day.

  2. Ooh, great post Becky! It’s hard to get things out sometimes, but you’re so right, it does feel great and very freeing. So glad you are able to reconnect to your friends 🙂 You’re right, honesty is the best policy, but sometimes it is hard to say what you are feeling.

    Hope you have a wonderful day, and a great Valentines!

    🙂

  3. Wonderful insights! I am working on being more honest, but I am also trying to figure out the best way to choose not to be offended and how to turn the other cheek. I will be honest and admit that it is hard and that sometimes I let things fester, but it helps for me to vent to my husband. I will definitely have to consider this 🙂 !! After all, many a times I just let my own feelings get in the way and furthermore, I get afraid that if I am too honest, then I will have no friends?!?! However, when push comes to shove and I really think about this, I do have a lot of friends that don’t “bug” me and that is probably because those are my “true” friends and we respect each other!

    Thanks for helping me sort through this 🙂 !!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. Becky, thank you so much for stopping by and for your support. It means alot to me.
    Great post! I’m the same as you, I usually, just say it’s okay, b/c I’d prefer not to make it worse than before. Although, you have now inspired to tell people how I feel, but at the same time graciously forgive them and accept their apologies.

  5. Great post, Becky! I have just started to do this too. I am scared of confrontations of any kind…I just want everyone to get along! So with certain people I will remain quiet and not say anything while they go on talking. But what they end up thinking is that I agree with them, which isn’t true. So I’ve started to speak up. It’s hard but worth it!

    Thank you for the Valentine wishes, the same to you!
    Kelli

  6. Honesty IS the best policy, but sometimes it’s so hard. Good for you for being honest about your feelings to your friends.

    Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

  7. Hmmm, I’m intrigued!?! Great post!

Leave a Reply

