The Read to Me Mission


Jennifer at Snapshot has started a Reading Mission for 2007! Here is an excerpt of what she has to say about it:

Read to Me 2007 is a mission to encourage reading to children. Most of us know that reading to children is a good thing. Most of us are busy. Most of us are selfish with our time (alright, I won’t saddle you with that, but I will admit that I am selfish with my time). Goals are important to me, and accountability is important to me, too. So, I’m going to set some goals for reading to my children and I’m going to invite you to do the same.

I love this idea and am definitely jumping on board. I’m a day late, but I’m still joining in!

I love to read, but it has not always been so. I didn’t grow up loving to read. It wasn’t until I was pregnant with my daughter that I took up reading. But, I haven’t been able to stop since! 🙂

Jennifer asked us to share our goals with everyone, so hear they are:

For my daughter I want to spend atleast 30 minutes a day, after school but before dinner, reading her a book of her choice. Then we will read devotions before bed. This is along with her library books from school. We are very fortunate to have a Reading Challenge through her school where you read at least 20 minutes a day, log your minutes, turn it in at the end of the month, and the children who participate are rewarded for their reading! It is a great way to keep the kids interested and we’ve done this all school year. But, I want to have more reading time with her and get in the daily devotions!

For my son, who is one, my goal is just to read atleast 30 minutes a day EVERY day!!! He likes to look at the books and touch and feel and chew, but this has not become an everyday thing for us. With this challenge I hope it will be!

For myself I plan to read 30 minutes from the Bible every single day! I have needed to do this for a long time and one of my New Year’s goals is to read the Bible from front to back! Now, I have even more incentive to do so!

When I asked my daughter if she would like to read more together she was so excited! She has it all planned out! We are going to clear off her desk and she will place her book selection for the day there and that is where we will do our daily reading! Her idea mind you! And, she already knows what books she wants to start with!

So, that’s my plan and I’m sticking to it! 🙂 Thank you, Jennifer, for such a great Mission! I am proud to be a part. If you’d like to join in, or just see what other participants are planning, head on over to this post at Jennifer’s that will explain it all to you! She is even giving away prizes!!!

Happy Reading everyone!

*Update: I’ve given it a lot of thought and I just don’t want to put a time limit on our reading. Some days we may be able to read for an hour or more and some days we may only get to read for 15 minutes. So, my goals are the same except for the time constraints! I should have thought that through more than I did! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. That is great that your daughter has a challenge to read a certain amount from school. Good luck with your goals! Thanks for visiting my blog. I included the list because I am a listmaker. I like to cross things off! Have a good day!

  2. Reading is such a wonderful way to spend time together as a family.

    I like how you changed your goal to not include time limits … we need to remember to read to enjoy it, not to dread it … especially on those days when time is running away. We read to both of our kids every day and they love it!

  3. I love lists!! My DH goes crazy when he finds them all over the house ranging from what to do before we go to bed to what to do before we die!!

Leave a Reply

