WFMW ~ To-Do List for Daughter

I am a list maker! I love the feeling you get when you cross out a task you have accomplished! 🙂 I am raising a list maker as well! My daughter will be six soon and Oh my word how she loves to make a to-do list! She gets so excited when she is able to check off all her tasks for the day!

I started making her a list last year when she was in preschool! I would put her tasks in order and draw a cute picture of what she was to do. She loved this, but now she wants to do it herself.

wfmwtodo.jpg

You can click on the picture to enlarge it! You may not be able to make out any of her tasks, but we know what they are! 😉 The excitement in her eyes when she has completed a to-do and gets to mark it off is just plain joyful. This has been a great self-esteem exercise and she actually doesn’t complain about doing her chores. If there is no list then there is whining and complaining at even the smallest of tasks – like picking up her room before she goes to bed. But, when she has the list she says – Oh, mommy now I have to pick up my toys!!!

I’m one who likes to mark all the way through my tasks, but she just likes to put a nice big check beside them. Whatever works for her…Works for Me!!!!

For some inspiration, tips, and ideas please visit Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer! Thanks, Shannon, for being the hostest with the mostest! 🙂

Have a great week everyone! 

9 Responses

  1. What a wonderful idea. And the list your dd created is way cute!
    I also am a list maker. There is such satisfaction in getting those things done. I just wish I could create my do-able daily lists. 🙂

    BTW – thanks for visiting my site.

  2. Hmmm…a Mother/Daughter duo. You might just have a future business together. Thanks for coming over and visiting…blessings

  3. I’m a list maker too (you should see my PDA, all lists!), and I love it that your daughter is learning it too. Good to teach her organization skills and patterns and routines, good job Mommy!

  4. Cute idea! I love this, I’m a list maker as well. My daughter will definitely be doing this 😉 Thanks for sharing! =)

  5. I am a listmaker too!!!

    I just saw some cute checklists for children on this site

    http://theproductivitypro.com – click on free stuff and then follow he links

    it’s the morning and evening routines for kids in pictures – you’ll love it.

  6. Like mother, like daughter … it is the same in our household, too 🙂 . Keri has started making lists and likes to write notes to help her remember things, but I think I will try your idea for when it comes to chores.

    Thanks for sharing! Happy Wednesday!

  7. When I come back from my morning run, I have my notebook waiting for me and I plan out my day and make “lists” — thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Me again, so happy you visited me! And I look forward to catching up on your blog as well. Just read all about “you” 🙂

  9. That’s too cute! My daughter loves having a list for cleaning her room. She’s lost without it. She loves having her own homeschool planner as well. She likes checking off her schoolwork as she does it.

Leave a Reply

